Map of the 16 workforce board regions

State Strategy

Goal 1: Align economic, workforce, and education systems to coordinate systems based on skill needs in regions.

The Governor has designated a new set of regional boundaries that roll up existing workforce development areas into a smaller set of regions. The new configuration organizes the 16 Workforce Investment Areas into 7 regions.


Numbered map of the workforce board regions


MA WIOA Workforce Development Regions

The purpose of the regional planning under the Workforce Skills Cabinet (WSC) and the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) is to use the same regional boundaries between economic development, workforce, education and key partners to identify business demand for skills, create regional strategies, and align existing resources to this process. The goal is to ensure that regional employers, educators, economic development entities, regional planning organizations and workforce training officials are coordinated in a way that creates strong talent pipelines, for both middle-skilled and highly skilled jobs.

A Labor Market Blueprint with strategies will be developed as an end-product to this process.  Please see Related Links below for an introduction to the Regional Planning by the WSC, the presentation slide decks at first two Pioneer Valley Regional Planning sessions, and Industry Summary and the current Blueprint Template!  The list of Regional Team Members has been added. 

Please see link below for the Final Pioneer Valley Regional Planning Labor Market Blueprint (updated based on comments received through March 2, 2018).

Related Links